ZLABS‎ > ‎100 Rebuilding YOU‎ > ‎107 Marketability‎ > ‎Business‎ > ‎


Updated 05/27/2017


   The good news: most states are actively working on the changes.

        2003   Act Announced by TSA in December.
        2005   Act Passed by Congress
        2018   Driver's licenses or State IDs issued by states that are NOT
                   compliant with the REAL ID Act and have NOT been granted
                   an extension by DHS may NOT BE USED TO FLY WITHIN THE US.
                   Effective Date is Jan 22, 2018
        2020   Every traveler will NEED A REAL ID-compliant license or State ID or
                   other acceptable form of identification to fly within the US
                   Effective Date Oct 01, 2020
     In inquiry to the TSA has been made to determine how the new requirements
     can physically be verified due to no date was provided for Drivers Licenses were
     issued on or after that date are deemed compliant.

    The TSA is keeping people informed on this regulatory action announced on Dec
    20, 2013 and enacted by Congress to provide stronger identification of travelers
    using Drivers Licenses issued by the States.

    Tennessee, Arkansas, Mississippi and Florida  are some of the 25 states that
    currently meet these requirements however no information has been found to
    reflect the date Tennessee's or other State's Drivers Licenses achieved compliance.
    This information will be provided when TSA responds to an inquiry.

    21 States have applied for an extension.
      4 of the 4 Terrorities (out of 4) have applied for an extension.
      4 States remain non-compliant (Montana, Minnesota, Missouri and Main).
    The above reflects TSA's website information as of 5/27/2017, which is found below.

    Secure driver's licenses and identification documents are a vital component of
    our national security framework.  The REAL ID Act, passed by Congress in 2005,
    enacted the 9/11 Commission’s recommendation that the Federal Government
    “set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's
    licenses.”  The Act established minimum security standards for license issuance
    and production and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for certain
    purposes driver’s licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the
    Act’s minimum standards.  The purposes covered by the Act are: accessing
    Federal facilities, entering nuclear power plants, and, no sooner than 2016,
    boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft. 

    States and other jurisdictions have made significant progress in enhancing the
    security of their licenses over the last number of years. As a result, approximately
    90% of all U.S. drivers hold licenses from jurisdictions: (1) determined to meet
    the Act’s standards; or (2) that have received extensions. Individuals holding
    driver’s licenses or identification cards from this jurisdiction may continue to
    use them as before.